skip to content

Celebrating Excellence at the Shining Stars Awards 2023

The annual Shining Stars Awards evening held at the Davidson restaurant was a remarkable event that brought together more than 130 attendees to recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements of students studying Hairdressing, Beauty Therapy, and Barbering throughout the year. The event showcased emerging talent and provided a platform to honour our students' hard work and dedication in the company of their families, employers, and peers.

Among the many deserving recipients, we unveiled the Student of the Year awards in their respective fields. Azizeh Maher received the Student of the Year award for Beauty Therapy, Grace Morrison for Hairdressing, and Gomer Mendoza for Barbering.

In addition, more than 50 other students received awards throughout the evening. These winners represented a diverse range of students, including those studying on-campus, through an apprenticeship, traineeship, pre-apprenticeship, and VET in schools training opportunities.

The evening included recognition of special achievements. Meaghan Vecoli was honoured with the Andrea Abbott Memorial Award, which acknowledges outstanding dedication to their trade and a kind and generous attitude to their peers. Furthermore, Olivia Huntington won the People's Choice Award for her editorial image created for the Hair Project competition.

Guests at the event were treated to the fine hospitality of the Davidson Restaurant and were captivated by the inspiring words of guest speaker Sean Purcell. His empowering speech encouraged guests to "Build a Life with Purpose."

The Shining Stars Awards 2023 was a resounding success, recognising our students' exceptional talent and dedication. We extend our heartfelt congratulations to all winners and express our gratitude to the families, employers, and industry partners who supported our students throughout the year.


Congratulations to all deserving winners

Beauty Therapy Awards

Student of the Year
Azizeh Maher

Samantha Morgan, Mia Ackland, Garima Gupta, Jane Simpson

Highly Commended
Paris Soetekouw, Melissa Gardiner, Stella Rice, Sacha Koschmann

Summer Malone

VET in Schools
Lou Joske, Christian Seiuli, Lauren Gates, Jemma Kevich, Monique Hedjes, Ava Newling, Paige Croxford, Charlotte Otway, Dannika Carroll, Alanah Shelley, Chelsy Muir.

Hairdressing Awards

Student of the Year
Grace Morrison

Emma Aspland, Jordyn McCawley, Georgia Howell, Katherine Tsipnis, Cassandra Bassett, Laura Kitchenham, Brahche Delaney, Tayanne Sullivan Boutkan

Highly Commended
Sarah Bensted, Ash McCracken, Alexandra Watt, Tabitha Conway, Allison King, Roja Kandada, Encouragement Award; Sam Burrell

VET in Schools Highly Commended
Vali Slatyer-Diss, Kirsten Rossendell

VET in Schools Outstanding
Erin Keddie

Andrea Abbott Memorial
Meaghan Vecoli

The Hair Project
Sarahjit Singh, Rebecca Puopolo, Olivia Huntington, Cassandra Bassett,

Go Nuts with Donuts
Paris Taylor, Emma Aspland.

Barbering Awards

 Student of the Year
Gomer Mendoza

Htoo Eh Gay, Courtney Ramsdale

Highly Commended
Aaron Bonney, Gaurav Thakkar, Catherine Murphy, Wajeeh Haddad, Bronti Grant.